Tutorial Evaluation

 

All of the images in the tutorial are ones I made specifically for displaying the process of how to create a rocket on illustrator therefore I had to make images that were made with a tutorial in mind that means leaving room for explanation as well as annotation so the composition was important, although I feel I could have taken more time when doing so as in some parts it looks a little messy where I’ve put certain annotations.  I suppose something to take away from this project is to always check the sizes of your images as they might take up more room than they need to.

I feel I could have improved my layout by using a format similar to celtx which would have given the tutorial a bit more order and control because it can get a little confusing at the moment, also regarding my text i could have shortened my explanations or included that below the related image as its a bit all over the place unless you follow it step by step maybe i could have made use of indesign for its grid and column system that would have helped me when aligning and arranging the text and images

 

My target audience would mainly consist of students who are just starting to learn about illustrator my tutorial covers most of the basics which would be helpful for beginners, i feel like only people who know what the tools are called or where they are located would understand this tutorial as people without prior knowledge wouldn’t know what they are called, so it might have been helpful to include a key like system for the tools used on that page or screen shots of me doing the work.

I think i’m happy with the outcome although as stated above there are some significant improvements I could have made such as keys and using indesign instead of illustrator to align and position everything it might have even benefitted from a voice over or video of me doing it step by step, but i did learn some new functions myself while doing this such as the duplicate last transformation shortcut which can allow you to make a circle of different shapes. in comparison to professional work mine leaves much to be desired it looks more like a rough sketch than a finished product if i had time i would go back and put it in indesign and make a proper leaflet/booklet out of it which would make it look really fancy

 

Leave a comment